PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Johnson Central senior Mason Blair finished his career with 2,363 points, most in school history, and averaged 31.5 points per game. He set a state record in three-point goals made with 168.
Medical Leader | Photo by TEDDY PAYNTER

Medical Leader’s All-Area Boys’ Basketball Teams: JC’s Blair leads elite squad: Pikeville’s Justice earns Coach of the Year honors

Teddy Paynter

PIKEVILLE — Johnson Central sharpshooter Mason Blair capped off his career as a Golden Eagle at the top of his class.


The senior finished up his career with 2,363 points, including more than 2,300 of those over three years.


He averaged 31.5 points per game and helped Johnson Central to a region best 27-7 record and berth in the 15th Region championship game.


Blair set a state record for three-point goals with 168. He had two games of 50-plus points, including a school record 58 against Lawrence County. He had nine games of 40-plus points.


The University of Pikeville signee was honored today as being named the Medical Leader’s Player of the Year.


Blair is joined on the elite first team by nine other outstanding players, including Pikeville junior Wyatt Battaile (20.2 ppg.). Battaile led the Panthers to a berth in the Sweet 16.


Other first team members are South Floyd junior J.R. Tackett (18.9 ppg.), Mingo Central junior Jeremy Dillon (20 ppg.), Letcher Central senior Torrell Carter (26.4 ppg.), Johnson Central senior Cole Crace (21.1 ppg.), Tug Valley junior Tyler May (20 ppg.), Phelps junior Christian Mounts (23.6 ppg.), Shelby Valley freshman Cody Potter (17.2 ppg.) and Pike Central senior Ryan Eads (14.5 ppg.).


The second team is captained by Mingo Central freshman Drew Hatfield (15 ppg.). Hatfield and Dillon led Mingo Central to the state tournament.


Others selected to the second team include Paintsville freshman Seth Williams (16.2 ppg.), Belfry junior Isaiah Roblee (14.3 ppg.), South Floyd sophomore Brady Conn (15.5 ppg.), East Ridge senior Michel Conn (11.2 ppg.), Allen Central freshman Ethan Smith-Mills (13.6 ppg.), Prestonsburg sophomore Austin Endicott (11.5 ppg.), Betsy Layne sophomore Grant Orsborn (13 ppg.), Tug Valley junior Jonathan Blankenship (10 ppg.) and Pike Central junior Seth Conn (13.2 ppg.)


South Floyd junior Jacob Collins was named captain of the third team. He averaged 15.2 points per game.


Others chosen were Johnson Central sophomore Jacob Rice (11.2 ppg.), Jenkins senior Coty Wright (12.3 ppg.), East Ridge senior Dawson Clark (11 ppg.), Allen Central junior Cameron Nelson (12.6 ppg.), Pikeville sophomore Connor Roberts (10 ppg.), Belfry junior Koleston Blankenship (10.6 ppg.), Paintsville eighth-grader Mason Moore (16.2 ppg.), Shelby Valley junior Blake Burke (10.8 ppg.) and Pike Central senior Blake Wallace (14 ppg.).


Pikeville first-year head coach Elisha Justice was honored as Coach of the Year after guiding the Panthers to the Sweet 16. The Panthers finished 23-9.










Here is the Medical Leader’s All-Area Boys’ Basketball Teams:


Player of the Year:


Mason Blair, Johnson Central, Sr.,


Coach of the Year:


Elisha Justice, Pikeville


First Team


Mason Blair, Sr., Johnson Central, 31.5 ppg. (Capt.)


Wyatt Battaile, Jr., Pikeville, 20.2 ppg.


J.R. Tackett, Jr., South Floyd, 18.9 ppg.


Jeremy Dillon, Jr., Mingo Central, 20 ppg.


Torrell Carter, Sr., Letcher Central, 26.4 ppg.


Cole Crace, Sr., Johnson Central, 21.1 ppg.


Tyler May, Jr., Tug Valley, 20 ppg.


Christian Mounts, Jr., Phelps, 23.6 ppg.


Cody Potter, Fr., Shelby Valley, 17.2 ppg.


Ryan Eads, Sr., Pike Central, 14.5 ppg.


Second Team


Drew Hatfield, Fr., Mingo Central, 15 ppg. (Capt.)


Seth Williams, Fr., Paintsville, 16.2 ppg.


Isaiah Roblee, Jr., Belfry, 14.3 ppg.


Brady Conn, So., South Floyd, 15.5 ppg.


Michael Conn, Sr., East Ridge, 11.2 ppg.


Ethan Smith-Mills, Fr., Allen Central, 13.6 ppg.


Austin Endicott, So., Prestonsburg, 11.5 ppg.


Grant Orsborn, So., Betsy Layne, 13 ppg.


Jonathan Blankenship, Jr., Tug Valley, 10 ppg.


Seth Conn, Jr., Pike Central, 13.2 ppg.


Third Team


Jacob Collins, Jr., South Floyd, 15.2 ppg. (Capt.)


Jacob Rice, So., Johnson Central, 11.2 ppg.


Coty Wright, Sr., Jenkins, 12.3 ppg.


Dawson Clark, Sr., East Ridge, 11 ppg.


Cameron Nelson, Jr., Allen Central, 12.6 ppg.


Connor Roberts, So., Pikeville, 10 ppg.


Koleston Blankenship, Jr., Belfry, 10.6 ppg.


Mason Moore, 8th, Paintsville, 16.2 ppg.


Blake Burke, Jr., Shelby Valley, 10.8 ppg.


Blake Wallace, Sr., Pike Central, 14 ppg.


Honorable Mention:


Dylan Caudill, Allen Central; Cameron Catron, Austin Woolum, Belfry; Byron Hammond, Jordan Kendrick Betsy Layne; Matt Miller, Justin Potter, East Ridge; Austin Banks, Elijah Raglin, Letcher Central; Aaron Banks, Keshean Rhodes, Canaan Fletcher, Mingo Central; Brandon Norman, Phelps; Skylar Williams, Piarist School; Evan Rhodes, Kyle Watkins, Pikeville; Wes Hager, Drake Nunnery, Prestonsburg; Tanner Bentley, Shelby Valley; Levi Davis, Garrett Brown, Colby Savage, Tug Valley.